The Somewhat Historical, Retro, Inspiring Movie Project! (SHRIMP!)

godfather
Source: IMDb

Kiddo and I love movies. We seem to love oldies most and British ones best, but usually almost any well-made movie, like almost any well-written book, makes us all gooey with anticipatory excitement.

Movies are a really good exercise in concentration for me too…seriously! There used to be a time when I was overly distracted by movies and stopped watching them. I still don’t watch a lot of TV, but nowadays when I do, I use movies as an exercise to focus so that I won’t be distracted by my laptop!

This summer, he took a film studies class where he watched a good number of oldies and not-so-oldies and even wrote a comparison between two of his favorite movies (note to those new to this blog: kiddo doesn’t like to write essays, so any essay he writes is a cause for celebration).

These were assigned movies:

  1. Rebel Without a Cause (1955)
  2. Casablanca (1942)
  3. Some Like It Hot (1959)
  4. Psycho (1960)
  5. The Awful Truth (1934)
  6. The Maltese Falcon (1942)
  7. 3:10 to Yuma (2007)
  8. On the Waterfront (1939)
  9. Good Night and Good Luck (2005)
  10. Bonnie and Clyde (1967)
  11. The Godfather (1972…our first time and we loved it!)
  12. Back to the Future (1985…we watched all three)
  13. Malcolm X (1992)

and I threw in the following:

  1. Citizen Kane (1941)
  2. Gone With the Wind (1939)
  3. North by Northwest (1959)
  4. Arsenic and Old Lace (1944…another clear favorite)

The summer course was six weeks long and we enjoyed pacing ourselves watching these titles. When the course finished, I really missed watching movies with him and decided to continue the tradition whenever I could. We discuss books regularly so why not discuss well-made movies too?

And so SHRIMP was born! 🙂 (Kiddo says the acronym is a secret insult to Adrian…sibling rivalry at play here, best not interfere.)

I need your help! Could you please help us with movie ideas, dear reader?

I prefer that we watch somewhat historical films, retro would be nice because we love oldies and inspiring, heroic, soul-enriching titles are a huge bonus.

Kiddo is at such a great age for this project. He is almost 13 and has been watching some PG-13 and even less graphic R movies for some time, but I strongly feel that he can now handle more. Our inventory of potential flicks is now richer and wider.

We will probably aim for one or two movies a week, thinning it out to one every two or three weeks when he has quizzes and exams. Feel free to brainstorm with me (I do still prefer suggestions without too much violence, bad language and graphic sex scenes but this is something I can filter as needed).

SHRIMP! Ideas:

  1. Gandhi (1982) 8/3/2015
  2. Amazing Grace (2006) 8/5/2015
  3. Goodwill Hunting (1997)
  4. The Rainmaker (1997) 2015 (can’t remember the exact date)
  5. Dead Poets Society (1989)
  6. Hawking (2004)
  7. The Imitation Game (2014)

I welcome your thoughts!

